Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Bug Reports
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Bug Reports
Subject Topic: ph_ping1 Time Out Behavior Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 723
Posted: March 10 2017 at 20:59 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Not sure if this might be related to some of the other "time out" behaviors I have previously bug reported, but here is what I see for the "ph_ping1" function.

Background - I have a "system checker" type macro that runs on a timed event (every 20 minutes). Whenever my ISP goes down, I find that my "system checker" macro starts to hang/slow/etc. my PH system. I have traced this down to my internet check where I try to ping services outside of my local network....like Google or yahoo. Originally I used a function like:

ph_ping("yahoo.com",255) ... if my internet is down, it would take about 12-14 seconds to return and tell me that...(too long).

So, I started playing with ph_ping1 function because it has a timeout)...but for whatever reason, the timeout does not stop the function within the allotted timeout time.

...not sure if this is important,...but I do my testing of these functions in the "Formula Builder" box that pops up when you double click on a formula in a macro line.

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
gg102
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: January 29 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 214
Posted: March 10 2017 at 21:10 | IP Logged Quote gg102

My experience is that the ph_ping() and ph_ping1() suspend PH until the ph_ping function completes. For me, I do not
like suspending PH. I also ping google to make sure my internet connection is running. I launch a hidden DOS .BAT
using a .VBS script. My .BAT writes a .TXT file that I have PH trigger on. I outlined my process in this thread if
you're interested.

http://www.power-home.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=10702&PN =1

Hope it helps.

Back to Top View gg102's Profile Search for other posts by gg102
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4428
Posted: March 11 2017 at 14:30 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

I'll add this as a bug to my todo list and see if I can
make the function adhere to the timeout value.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum