Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: 2845-222 Door Sensor Looping w I2CS Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
traviskleckner
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: February 26 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 118
Posted: July 08 2019 at 16:59 | IP Logged Quote traviskleckner

So I'm trying to create a link with a 2845-222 Door
Sensor...

I got the new sensor, turned on auto discovery and put
the DS into linking mode. Powerhome never detected it. I
then manually entered a new device, entered it's ID and
PH went ahead and detected it, set the device type
correctly.

But, now I'm stuck in a look....it will cycle between
"CREATE I2CS INITIAL" (seems like maybe 3 times?), then
"SCAN NEW I@CS LINK: Record 1", "SCAN NEW I@CS LINK:
Record 2", "SCAN NEW I@CS LINK: Record 3". The led on
the sensor is going between flashing green and red.

It seems that some of the communications are also timing
out, but not most, and it's about 12" away from 2 new
dual band SLs, so I would think it's good (plus there
are 50+ devices in my house, many/most dual band so the
mesh network is solid), so my feeling is that the
timeout is unrelated.

Anyone have any thoughts.
Back to Top View traviskleckner's Profile Search for other posts by traviskleckner
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4264
Posted: July 08 2019 at 19:30 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Travis,

SmartHome has a slightly different set of rules concerning the Insteon smart locks. Since it's a security device, you can completely link it to the
PLM entirely through software and it requires a manual link to get things working.

Easiest way to do it is to put the lock into linking mode and then in Insteon Explorer on the "Manual Linking" tab, press the "Link" button in the
"PLC/PLM as Responder Linking" section.

This should get things going for you.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
traviskleckner
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: February 26 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 118
Posted: July 09 2019 at 06:46 | IP Logged Quote traviskleckner

Sure enough. I'm using it to turn on a closet light, so
the idea that it's a security device never crossed my
mind.

Is there a reason that in device types it's setup with
controller groups set to 0? I changed it to one and was
able to link it then, but I'm curious if there is some
reason it was setup like that.
Back to Top View traviskleckner's Profile Search for other posts by traviskleckner
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum