Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: W10: unprotect c:\windows\...\backup.syb Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: August 11 2019 at 09:00 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

Hi - I upgraded the machine I use for powerhome to W10. Unfortunately, every time I ran ph_backupdb(), I got an error window and PH hung. The error was "Unable to open backup log "C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\backup.syb".   I changed the permissions on that file and fixed the issue.

Anyone know whether this is cool and why it's necessary?

Thanks!
/j
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Posted: August 12 2019 at 00:08 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

This helped me, environment variable fix:

http://power-home.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5598
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: August 12 2019 at 07:14 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

thanks, but -

so wait - I need to point powerhome AWAY from the SysWOW64 folder and to some other folder? How did you set that environment variable on your system?
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 30
Posted: August 12 2019 at 10:00 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

This is not really a Powerhome setting, it is a Sybase setting, what PH uses for its database. Just make sure you create the folder first, and have full
access to it before assigning the new env variable. Here are the instuctions:

Search for Control Panel from the start menu. Then in the control panel window type this into the address space:

"Control Panel\System and Security\System"

From there choose "Advanced system settings" on the left side:



Then click the "Environment Variables" button on the advanced tab,



click "New...", then assign the Variable as "SALOGDIR", and the path as the folder that you choose, preferably a new folder that you create in the
"C:\Powerhome" install folder (Mine's on a different drive where I keep all of my security data and scripts).



Then since it is a system variable, it is best to restart your system so that Sybase (and Powerhome) uses it properly. Once you do, every time the backup runs it will write to that new
folder.

Edited by Resolute - August 12 2019 at 10:04
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: August 12 2019 at 15:45 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

Thanks for the step-by-step.   and let me admit upfront to being an idiot, as the SALOGDIR is mentioned in the help for ph_backupdb. (RTFM!)

all set
thanks!
/j
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum