Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Insteon Explorer/Devices: Disable All? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: October 26 2019 at 10:14 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

Hi - From what I can tell, when installing a new I2CS device you have
to have Status Scan enabled, and so it makes sense to check the
"Disabled" box on all other devices to reduce traffic during the install. I
was wondering if there was a shortcut to Disable all devices (and
Enable all devices) at once. If not, can I suggest it? :-)   

Also - if I typically do not have Status Scan checked, is there any
reason not to have all devices Disabled all the time (except when I'm
updating one?)

Thanks!
/j
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: November 23 2019 at 15:42 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

no one?
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4271
Posted: November 23 2019 at 20:09 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Jeff,

When installing new Insteon devices, the scans that are necessary for device discovery, link scanning, etc. are given priority over regular background
status scanning so shouldnt really matter.

However, if you want to disable (or enable) all insteon devices, you can do so using the following sql in the PowerHome Multi-editor (in sql mode --
shift+f5):

update insteondevices set activeflag = 0

To enable all devices set the activeflag column to 1. You could also do this programmatically by calling the sql from one of the PowerHome ph_sql
functions.

Status scan being checked/unchecked controls whether PowerHome is background scanning the devices current status. This same command also detects if
the devices internal insteon database has changed. Turning Status scan off will disable this particular background scan. It should have no effect on
adding new devices (let me know if you're seeing something different).

When a device is "Disabled", this prevents PowerHome from doing a background status scan (assuming status scan is checked) or background link scanning
or pretty much any "background" related communication with the device. Direct control commands initiated by PowerHome will always be sent regardless
of the status of the disabled flag.

Hope this helps,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
jeffw_00
Super User
Super User


Joined: June 30 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 792
Posted: November 23 2019 at 20:48 | IP Logged Quote jeffw_00

Hi Dave - Hope you're doing well. I leave status scan off (I don't
like the constant traffic)

However, it appears that status scan needs to be enabled to setup
a new I2CS device, and if it's a wireless device and you have a lot
(40+) devices all being scanned, the setup can be unsuccessful
due to device timeout.

But it sounds like i can leave all mine disabled all the time since
"Disabled" pertains only to background scan (or other background
stuff which I don't have enabled).

THANKS!
/j
Back to Top View jeffw_00's Profile Search for other posts by jeffw_00
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum