Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Hardware
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Hardware
Subject Topic: RCS X10 Thermostat Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2869
Posted: June 14 2020 at 18:52 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

I just found that my RCS X10 thermostat's module (XM10U?) may have died. :( It's not reported in over a month. I rebooted my PH machine and cycled power to the transmitter with no change.

Anyone have suggestions on testing?

Edited by TonyNo - June 14 2020 at 18:55
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4322
Posted: June 15 2020 at 22:51 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Tony,

I remember these units. I believe the thermostat is an RCS TX15B. If so, I had one of these years ago. Not sure how to test though because if
memory serves, the thermostat and the control unit are separate (but connected) so Im guessing one or the other could be at fault.

The first thing I may try is just a regular X10 unit in the same outlet that the control unit is plugged in and verify that it can receive
commands. If I remember correctly, wasnt the controller a TW-523 (or wasnt one involved somewhere in the configuration)? Might need to verify the
functionality of that unit. I also remember that there was a preset dim command that told the thermostat to no longer respond to X10 commands.
Wondering it that may have been sent.

Sorry to not be of much help.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2869
Posted: June 16 2020 at 07:05 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Thanks Dave.

Close. I think it's a TXB16. There is the wall unit and the main box. Looks like it uses an XM10U, which is a TTL, serial interface.

I did find some docs and a factory-reset procedure if it comes to that.


Edited by TonyNo - June 16 2020 at 07:05
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum