Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: Web portal main screen error Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 32
Posted: January 11 2016 at 09:28 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

Not sure why I started getting this, but it just started.
When logging into the web portal, for the main screen
(Device Status) I get this error:

Error retrieving data. Embedded NULL values present.

Device status works great from the Powerhome server, this
only happens when accessing the portal. Other screens/links
work just fine.

I scoured my device list looking for null fields, but I
don't see anything wrong...
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 722
Posted: January 12 2016 at 18:35 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Reboot comp and restart PH. Then see if the error goes away. Maybe
another program is somehow stepping on your web server????

If that doesn't work, exit PH and run the database rebuild
executable...maybe database got corrupted somehow.

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 32
Posted: January 13 2016 at 00:50 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

Database rebuild executable? I don't see it in my app
folder nor on the downloads page. Where is it?
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 722
Posted: January 13 2016 at 10:43 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Phupg.exe in the c:\powerhome folder....

Edited by smarty - January 13 2016 at 10:44


__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4421
Posted: January 22 2016 at 15:39 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Resolute,

Did the rebuild solve your problem? If not, zip up your
pwrhome.db file and email it to me. I should be able to
find the offending data and put a fix in for the next
release.

Thanks,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 32
Posted: January 23 2016 at 00:09 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

Not sure why, but the control center suddenly started working again. All is good there. Other issues did crop up though, and
I can't seem to shake them.

Issue 1:
I am using 2.15B, and reading the FAQ indicates that upgrading to 2.15C simply requires a rename of the program folder, then
a re-install to the old location, then copying the database and ini file into the new installation. When I try that, the
installer reports that I must first un-install the 2.15B version.

Issue 2:
When I copy the CC objects to a new CC page using the design page, everything works great, but when I go into the ccbuttons
table (connected via ODBC in Access), the TabID on all the new buttons show the ccTab it was copied from, resulting in what
appears to be duplicates. I am sure that they are not entirely duplicates simply because PH can distinguish the difference,
so not sure what is going on there as well.
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4421
Posted: January 24 2016 at 13:46 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Resolute,

Glad to hear the web based Device Status screen is
back working for you. If it should happen again, just
close PowerHome and make a copy of the pwrhome.db file
and zip and email to me. I should be able to determine
which field has the problem and put a fix in to
prevent it.

Not sure why you're having a problem with issue 1.
What I would do though is rename the c:\powerhome
folder to something like c:\powerhome_215b. Then
uninstall PowerHome. Since the folder is changed, it
will leave all the files and just remove the system
based stuff. Then try to install 2.1.5c and follow the
rest of the upgrade procedure (copy over the the .ini
and .db files). Make sure that 2.1.5c launches and
then go ahead and do the patch to 2.1.5d (see the
2.1.5c thread). I'll look at the GUID's for the
installations and see if this is what is causing the
problem.

Concerning issue 2, if PH is showing the copied items
on the appropriate tabs, then it must be updating the
tabid properly. Since the primary key for the table is
the tabid and id columns, they must be different in
order for them to exist. Keep in mind that the CC data
is contained in 3 tables. CCTABS, CCBUTTONS, and
CCBUTTONSTEMP. CCTABS and CCBUTTONS contain the main
base data. When a design change is detected within
CCBUTTONS, those changes should be updated into
CCBUTTONSTEMP. The CC itself is constructed from
CCBUTTONSTEMP and not CCBUTTONS. When you make
programmatic updates to the CC using the CC functions,
the changes are ONLY made to CCBUTTONSTEMP leaving the
main base table (CCBUTTONS) unchanged.

The only thing I can think of is that when you copy
the buttons to a different tab using the CC Designer,
those changes may not yet be committed to the database
(they're stored in a temporary area which is still
accessible from within PowerHome and that particular
connection ID). Since you're using Access, you're
using a different database connection which wouldnt
see those changes until they actually have a database
commit applied to them. I would close and save the
Designer and then check again in Access. Worst case,
restart or reinit PowerHome and then see if they
appear in Access. At some point, they have to appear
or else they changes would not be there the next time
PowerHome is restarted. Im just not sure (will have to
dive through the code) at what point a database commit
is actually performed when buttons are copied between
tabs in the designer.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
Resolute
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: January 11 2016
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 32
Posted: January 29 2016 at 19:54 | IP Logged Quote Resolute

I resolved issue 2 by changing the way I duplicate the CC tab to another. Instead of using the designer select all --> then
copy to new tab function, I export the tab from explorer, then use a text editor to rename the tabs references and the object
ID fields to include the tab name ("ST1" to "ST1_{TAB NAME}". I then use Multi-Editor in SQL mode and import the new tab and
objects from the edited text file. Works every time, and allows for easier sorting/searching/replacing when making bulk changes
using Access.

Thanks for your detailed response, MUCH APPRECIATED!
Back to Top View Resolute's Profile Search for other posts by Resolute
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4421
Posted: February 10 2016 at 15:57 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Resolute,

Excellent! Always more than one way to skin a cat .

Sounds like you're making alot of progress with PowerHome and I look forward to more posts on problems you've solved and new ways you've found to use PowerHome.

Thanks,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum