Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Bug Reports
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Bug Reports
Subject Topic: Odd PlugIn Behavior Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: October 10 2015 at 18:23 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Background - I am using PH to telnet into my Wireless Access Points (WAP's) to do a numbers of possible things (reboot them, see if my [or the wife's] I-phone is on my SSID, etc.). I do this by using a plugin that is defined below:

Plugin Setup

Load Order:10    ID:WAP IPhone    Type:ActiveX      Launch Data: PH_Socket.phsocket    Init Data:192.168.0.51 23


From this working plugin, I define a "Generic Plugin" type trigger, (Any Command, Any Option). The temp variables (temp5) give me my WAP's feedback.

I presently have my WAP set up to accept a telnet session for an unlimited amount of time (rather than 1,5,10 minutes that are the other possible choices). While I could keep an active telnet session always open, I would rather open the session, do/get what I need, and then close the session from within PH. Below is how I login/open the session:

Login Name:
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"loginname" + char(013),"")

Password:
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"password" + char(013),"")

Getting WAP clients
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"get clientinfo" + char(013),"")

Exiting the telnet Session with the WAP
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"exit" + char(013),"")


However, my question/issue comes about when trying to start another telnet session. It seems that if I reinit the plugin

ph_pictrl("WAP IPHONE","reinit",0)

I CAN log back into the WAP once again. However, if you exit once again with

ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"exit" + char(013),"")

Another ph_pictrl("WAP IPHONE","reinit",0) will cause PH to hard lock and have to be restarted.

SO, my first re-init works (allows me to log back into WAP), but a second re-init will cause PH to hard lock.

Is there a better way to do this? I have tried disabling and re-enabling the plugin   

ph_pictrl("WAP IPHONE","enable",0)
ph_pictrl("WAP IPHONE","disable",0)

But have come up with the same results.

Update: I get the same PH lock up when I try to use a wait command between the login and password lines:
10 ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"loginname" + char(013),"")
20 wait 3
30 ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"password" + char(013),"")

If I do it manually, it works.

Edited by smarty - October 10 2015 at 18:46


__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: October 11 2015 at 15:08 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Steve,

What version of the socket plugin are you using (Help-
>About->Plugins)?

Once I know the version, I'll trace and see if I can
find what is going on.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: October 11 2015 at 18:45 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Plugin is:

PowerHome Raw Socket Plugin
PowerHome Plugin ID: WAP IPHONE
Plugin Version: 1.9
SDK Version: 1.2
Current Status: Enabled.

Currently running this only on my developmental PC (Win7, 32 bit; running PH 2.1.5c (ver 2.1.5.d is running on production machine).

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: October 11 2015 at 19:31 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Steve,

Gotcha. I'll start digging into the code to see what
the problem may be and if I can replicate the
behavior.

In the meantime, Ive got a couple of suggestions that
may help eliminate the problem.

1. Leave the Init Data field blank for the plugin.
Since you're wanting to connect, run some commands,
disconnect, you don't want to supply this data. If
supplied, the plugin will automatically connect to the
IP and port when the plugin is launched.

2. Use the functions like this:

ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",2,23,0,"192.168.0.51","")

This command should be first and will open the
connection. Then you can use your other commands as
normal:

ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"loginname" +
char(013),"")
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"password" +
char(013),"")
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"get clientinfo" +
char(013),"")
ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",1,0,0,"exit" + char(013),"")

When you're ready to disconnect, then use this
command:

ph_picmd(5,"WAP IPHONE",3,0,0,"","")

This function will actually disconnect and close the
socket. When you're ready to run again, just repeat.

You may still end up having the issue with it hanging
though. There was an issue discovered with the current
plugin framework with threading that causes the
hanging issue. The problem has been corrected but
won't be available until the next release.

Let me know how the above goes.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: October 17 2015 at 16:17 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Still see some hangs...too flakey for my production machine. Hopefully the threading fix will lead to increased stability of the plugin.

Edited by smarty - October 17 2015 at 16:18


__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum