Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: LED Level on 2477D Ver 7.8 (PH Ver 69) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
traviskleckner
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: February 26 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 118
Posted: September 12 2016 at 11:30 | IP Logged Quote traviskleckner

I've got a couple brand spankin' new 2477Ds. Sticker says
Rev.7.8 2516. Powerhome calls it firmware ver 69).

I'm trying to adjust the LED bar level (AKA the Global LED
Level) and getting nothing. I can read and write the other
Config 2E values (Ramp Rate and Level) with no problem.

Edit: PowerHome is Version 2.1.5c

It seems that there must be an alteration on the place it's
getting stored, as I've adjusted it via the switches menu
system (which, holy hell, that's gotten complicated) and
even using the "Retrieve" on the Config 2E values still
shows it as 0.

Any thoughts?

Edited by traviskleckner - September 12 2016 at 11:51
Back to Top View traviskleckner's Profile Search for other posts by traviskleckner
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4270
Posted: September 13 2016 at 00:47 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Travis,

I checked my notes and found some info on setting and
reading the global 2E setting. I have also confirmed
the below working on a couple of my switches.

To read the global LED setting, use this command:

ph_insteonwithretext1("YOURINSTEONDEVICEID",h2d("2e"),
0,"00")

The data that is returned will be a string of 15 hex
bytes (two hex digits per byte). The first byte is the
returned cmd2 and the remaining 14 bytes is the data1
thru data14 returned extended data. The global LED
level is at data9 (the 10th byte in the returned
string).

To set the global LED setting, use this command:

ph_insteonwithretext1("YOURINSTEONDEVICEID",h2d("2e"),
0,"00 07 XX")

where XX is a hex number from 11 to 7f with 11 being
the dimmest and 7f being the brightest.

Let me know how this works for you.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
traviskleckner
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: February 26 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 118
Posted: October 15 2016 at 10:00 | IP Logged Quote traviskleckner

Thanks for the feedback. Here is what I tried, and
maybe I'm doing it wrong:

I went to PH Explorer, Formulas and created a new
formula.

I tried ph_insteonwithretext1("42.9D.80",
h2d("2e"), 0,"00")
as my formula. It runs in
0.000 seconds and returns -100. As best I can tell it
seems to return the same thing for many switches.

Then I tried ph_insteonwithretext1("MBR-
CLOSET", h2d("2e"), 0,"00")
as my formula. It
Took almost 15 seconds to respond and the response was
-2.

So then a little more experimentation and I got this...
On a SL with firmware 56, the Global Levels work fine.
I can read and set them with no problems. I've got 2
more that are firmware 65 and 69, and I can't use PH to
read or write their Global LED Levels. So it seems that
somewhere between firmware 56 and 65 something changed.

Thoughts?
Back to Top View traviskleckner's Profile Search for other posts by traviskleckner
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4270
Posted: October 15 2016 at 19:58 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Travis,

The first command with the Insteon address (42.9D.80) will not work. The formula is expecting the ID that you assigned to that address in the Insteon Explorer Devices
tab. The -100 (see the help on the ph_insteonwithret function for the return values) means that the ID was not found.

The second attempt is probably correct since you didnt get the -100. A -2 means that there was a timeout trying to communicate with the device.

Reading further, it appears that you did get the formula to work. Instead of actually creating a formula in the "Formulas" section of PowerHome Explorer, I would just
execute them using the PowerHome Multi-Editor in formula mode (shift-F6). This will you to quickly run them without having to make changes to your system and easily see
the return codes.

I went through my own system and unfortunately I don't have any switchlincs with firmware 65 or 69. I have several that are at firmware 64 and the command works fine on
those. The actual command that is sent is just a 0x2E command which is a standard Insteon command that even if it doesnt return the global level data should still return
something for any device that supports extended commands so not sure what is going on. Are you able to read these devices database and control them remotely from
PowerHome? To check reading the database, put a check in the "Scan DB" column for the device and save. Watch the insteon commands and see if there are extended or
standard length and if the communication is flowing. If not, then these devices are most likely not correctly linked to your PLM and you won't get the 2E data back. If
all is working, then something must have changed with firmware 65 and I'll have to try and determine what it is.

Let me know,

Dave.

Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
patrickm
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: February 22 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 177
Posted: October 23 2016 at 13:30 | IP Logged Quote patrickm

Dave,
I just installed some new 2477D version 7.9 dimmers and
tried the commands you suggested. I tried a value of 11
and the brightness appeared the same as the default. I
then tried a value of one and the LED was very dim. A
value of 4 seemed acceptable so I then tried retrieving
the value with the CONFIG 2E and noticed that the Signal
to Noise value read back is the value I was writing to
the 2477D.
Back to Top View patrickm's Profile Search for other posts by patrickm
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 686
Posted: December 17 2019 at 18:56 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Dave,
I have been recently replacing some failed Insteon
switches in the master bedroom. I too needed to dim
the LED light bar level (too bright for the bedroom).
My switches are firmware version 69.

Similar to what PatrickM found, the light bar level
can be set by the formula you mention:

ph_insteonwithretext1("A_TEST",h2d("2e"),0,"00 07 XX")

Where "XX" is Hex from dimmest "00" decimal or "00"
Hex all the way to "255" decimal or "FF" Hex

The CONFIG 2E tab in the Insteon Options box retrieves
the newly set LED brightness level, and places it in
the "Signal to Noise Threshold" box. <=this seems
like an error/PH mis-configuration.

Additionally, the Global LED Level slider bar does NOT
set the desired LED level. It seems it can only be
done via the formula you mention. Again, it seems
like another PH misconfiguration (or more likley,
Insteon changed something on you without telling you).

Thanks for a GREAT PRODUCT.

Steve

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4270
Posted: December 23 2019 at 19:13 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Steve,

Not sure if they changed something on me or I made a mistake in setting this up. The notes I have for the 2477 does show differences from
what PowerHome is currently setup to handle. I don't know if other devices than the 2477 make use of this particular configuration or not.

In the version that Im working on, Ive created a new Config 2E configuration to cover the 2477 and updated the database to use this new
config. Ive tested and can confirm that it is now working as it should be...at least for my lone 2477D device.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum